Home Sitemap Contact
You're here: News > 2007


December 13, 2007

  • tourdates added for 2008

December 4, 2007

  • tourdates added for 2008

october 16, 2007

  • Today, again John Hiatt's name has been used for a "Frazz" cartoon. If you can't find the "Frazz" cartoon in your newspaper today, then please visit the official website

    Thank you Gert for your message on SOR.

Februari 2006 John could be found in a Frazz cartoon for the first time.

september 25, 2007

  • Another part of the archives is done. A full list with all the promo cd singles can be found now under discography.

September 24, 2007

Ernie Payne passed away in Los Angeles on Monday, September 17 at 8:30 in the morning. Ernie was a true original artist / song writer and he released one record (Coercion Street / Black and Tan Records) and toured Europe a few times.

More about Ernie Payne here.




August 20, 2007

august 10, 2007

august 8, 2007

  • check out new tourdates 2007

August 5, 2007

  • From www.aspentimes.com By Stewart Oksenhorn

    SNOWMASS VILLAGE — On his forthcoming album, for which some 17 songs are already recorded, John Hiatt has gone mostly the acoustic route. The album, tentatively titled "What Love Can Do," features Hiatt and Luther Dickinson of the North Mississippi Allstars, both playing mostly acoustic guitars. Patrick - a recent acquaintance of Hiatt's whose last name he can't recall - contributes on upright bass.

    But the album also features Kenneth Blevins, the drummer from the Goners, one of the bands Hiatt reconvenes now and again to record and tour with. And Hiatt, who is producing and engineering the sessions in the studio on his farm outside of Nashville, is making sure to give the album a kick.

    "It drives," Hiatt said by phone. "It's very acoustic, but it's like acoustic rock in a way. I definitely like to groove."

    Those more rocking elements, drive and groove, will be mostly absent in Hiatt's appearance Saturday in Snowmass Village's Massive Music & Movies event. Hiatt will appear as a solo performer, with only his acoustic guitar accompanying him. Singer-songwriter Shawn Colvin, who has been touring with Hiatt and who opens the show at 6 p.m., likewise will perform a solo, acoustic set.

    It is not uncommon for Hiatt to leave his love of grooving aside. He said that roughly half of his concerts are played without a band; he has toured occasionally with Lyle Lovett, Guy Clark and Joe Ely in a songwriters-in-the-round format. In 2000, Hiatt released the all-acoustic album "Crossing Muddy Waters," among his stronger efforts.

    "I like the electric guitar," Hiatt said. "I also like the acoustic guitar. I've been doing solo stuff forever; I started out this way. It's one of the reasons I never joined a band. I like folk singing."

    It's probably more accurate to say that Hiatt likes music. And not just in the way that most people, or even most musicians, like music. Hiatt's belief in music - in the sound of an instrument, the impact a rock star can have - is palpable in his music, and in his life. A fair number of his songs are specifically about music and musicians; it's likely no accident that several of them have become his best-known songs.

    "Riding With the King," the title track from Hiatt's 1996 album, mixes a child's reverence for the early Elvis, and a tinge of regret for what stardom did to "the King." But the lingering impact of the song's last lines - "I had a guitar hanging just about waist high/ I'm gonna play that thing until the day I die" - seems to reveal something essential about Hiatt. When guitar gods B.B. King and Eric Clapton teamed for an album, they borrowed "Riding With the King" as their own title track.

    "Memphis in the Meantime," the opening song on what is widely considered Hiatt's best album, 1987's "Bring the Family," celebrates the sounds of Memphis. "Perfectly Good Guitar," the title track from his 1993 album, calls into the question the rock cliché of ruining an instrument for theatrical value. "Master of Disaster," the title song from his latest album, is about a musician who is smoother with the guitar than with the ladies.

    Asked what he enjoyed most about playing in the solo format, Hiatt cracked, "You get all the attention." But then he quickly turned to the more honest answer: Not having to depend on a band means he can pull out any song in his repertoire. And in the case of Hiatt, who has some 20 studio albums to his credit, that means a deep well of music to draw from.

    "You can play whatever you want," said Hiatt, adding that he has been drawing heavily on lesser-known songs - "Thirty Years of Tears" and "Listening to Old Voice" - from 1990's "Stolen Moments" album. "You're not limited to the band's repertoire. When you've got as much material as I have, you change the set list up a lot."

July 23, 2007

  • For collectors... updated the discography.
    Added a list of promo cd's and a list of DVD's.

July 5, 2007

  • Scottish tour date added!! check out here.

july 4, 2007

  • 2 more solo concerts in the netherlands. check out here.

June 16, 2007

  • European tour in october!!! Check out "tour > 2007"

June 14, 2007

  • Did you check out tourdates?? dates added already for 2008.

  • Uploaded a lot of  new stuff...... go and check out songlist and lyrics under discography. Before any comments, please read this first.
    Any help on this songlist is very welcome. Not all the information or mp3's we have are there yet, we are working on it!

  • Dutch Hiatt fans: Saturday June 16, 20.00 hr. listen to radio 2 (Live broadcasted on www.radio2.nl).
    The john Hiatt archives will add live on air the album "bring the family" to the "list of honor".

  • don't forget about John Hiatt and the north Mississippi allstars live on Belgium blues festival Peer. July 15. more information here.

June 2, 2007

  • Added two more issues from "in the john" fanclub magazine back in 1992. Surf to "collectors > in the John".
    Also added 3 other seasons greeting cards  send out to the members of the "in the john" fanclub.

  • added a few older tour itineraries. Surf to "collectors > itineraries".

april 16, 2007

  • You got a mobile phone?? Can it handle mp3 sounds?? Download a few John Hiatt ringtones!!!
    Go to downloads > other and download our free mp3 ringtones!!!
    with a good working mobile phone these mp3's are just perfect as a ringtone.

    • (89 kb)   Uncommon connection

    • (393 kb)  Little head

    • (24 kb)   Hangin' round here

    • (30 kb)   you must go

    • (89 kb)   riding with the king


April 9, 2007

  • Added a videoclip of "little head". go to downloads > video.

  • After years of searching i finally found the 45 r p/m "sure as i'm sittin' here / ocean. see discography.

    2 more vinyl singles:

    1. Full moon/Hangin' around the observatory (1974)
    2. Motorboat to heaven/Down home (1975)

    If you can help me on these, please drop me a note!!

Januari 14, 2007

  • out now "endless highway - the music of the band". for more information click here.

John's track is available through an exclusive download with Borders. In other words if you buy the Borders release, there will be a blow in card inside with a code to download the Hiatt track.


What happened in 2006



For latest news about John Hiatt click here.

List with upcoming shows can be found here.

The John Hiatt Archives

Last update:
October 14, 2023, 10:22

Designed By Virtual Partners