same old man


2008, may 27, new west records

CD: NW 6145
LP: NW 50111

1 old days 4:02 30 seconds preview
2 love you again 4:13 30 seconds preview
3 on with you 3:52 30 seconds preview
4 hurt my baby 4:33 30 seconds preview
5 what love can do 4:12 30 seconds preview
6 ride my pony 3:40 30 seconds preview
7 cherry red 4:09 30 seconds preview
8 our time 4:08 30 seconds preview
9 two hearts 4:18 30 seconds preview
10 same old man 4:04 30 seconds preview
11 let's give this love a try 4:09 30 seconds preview

Total running time:



John Hiatt:

acoustic and electric guitar

six string bass


Luther Dickinson:

acoustic and electric guitar


national resonator

Kenneth Blevins:


Patrick O’Hearn:


Lilly Hiatt: Harmony vocals on:
“Love You Again”
“What Love Can Do”.


  • All songs written by John Hiatt.

  • Produced by John Hiatt.

  • Recorded and mixed by John Hiatt.

  • Assisted by arthur "midget" sloatman.

  • recorded at Highway 61 Recordings, tanning and barbecue.

  • using gus skinas' sonoma DSD recording system.

  • mix board design and studio layout: arthur "midget" sloatman.

  • Wiring: jon watt.

  • mastered by adam ayan @ gateway mastering - portland, maine.

  • A&R ken levitan.

  • management: ken levitan, vector management.

  • business management: flood, bumstead, mcCready and mcCarthy.

  • tour manager: nineyear wooldridge.

  • booking: united talent agency.

  • bus: nitetrain coach.

  • driver: gary lumpkin.

  • FOH: wayne trevisani.

  • guitar tech: thom lowry.

  • publicity: carla sacks, sacks & co.

  • photography: jim mcGuire.

  • design: gina r. binkley, altar ego design.

john hiatt plays a gibson j-45, a fender telecaster, and a gretch country gentleman, and uses genzbenz and AMPEG amplifiers, fishman accoustic pickup systems and d'addario strings. Thanks also to yamaha keyboards, shure microphones, clairshowco nashville and digitech.

Thanks to my family, friends and co-workers.

John Hiatt's Same Old Man opens with the song "Old Days," in which he tells tales of life on the road sharing stages with several aging legends of the blues, and given the grainy drawl of his vocal on the track, one can be forgiven for thinking Hiatt has begin to turn into one of the grizzled old men he's singing about. But most of the tunes on Hiatt's 18th studio album find him in considerably stronger and more nimble voice, even though the blessings and trials of maturity are a recurring theme in these 11 songs. Hiatt produced and recorded Same Old Man at his home studio, with Luther Dickinson of the North Mississippi Allstars sitting in on guitar and mandolin while Patrick O'Hearn and Kenneth Blevins handled bass and drums, and while these sessions are dominated by a laid-back vibe informed by country blues, Hiatt sounds sharp and engaged on each track. While the songwriting is up to Hiatt's usual standards (which is to say it's quite good), as an album this is a more cohesive and emotionally effective set than he's offered since 1990's Stolen Moments. If "Cherry Red" is keyed to midlife nostalgia, his memories of cars, girls, and the Kingsmen are just flinty enough to avoid sounding sugary, and the culinary memories of "Our Time" convey a sense of opportunity lost with greater skill than most tunesmiths could bring to this material. And even on the less revelatory songs about love, Hiatt sings about the nuts and bolts of human relationships with the emotional gravity of someone who has learned plenty over the course of 56 years, and he writes and sings with the conviction of a true believer. More than a quarter century after breaking through as an "Angry Young Man," John Hiatt is neither these days, but Same Old Man shows he's learned a lot since then, and you can hear the lessons shining through in this music.